conflict of interest

November 2, 2011 § Leave a comment

You can really get a good glimpse into a person’s character by the way that they read their books. Like, me for example. I have a few dozen books scattered around my apartment that are all four chapters in. A writer friend once reprimanded me on the subject: “What? You can’t do that,” like I was criminal. My good friend, she buys six new books a week. I’m always envious of the way she just continues to accumulate. Two days later, those books end up in her bookshelf. “Every single book on that shelf I’ve read,” she delicately remarks. I wanted to say, “What? You can’t do that.” But oh yes, yes you can. You can start a person, and finish her, too.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading conflict of interest at Lightedhand.

meta

